Western Digital Announces Appointment of Tunç Doluca to Its Board of Directors

San Jose, CA - August 28, 2018

Western Digital Corp. (Nasdaq: WDC) today announced the appointment of Tunç Doluca to its board of directors. Doluca, 60, has served as president and chief executive officer of Maxim Integrated, a developer of innovative analog and mixed-signal products and technologies, since 2007. He brings to the board over 30 years of executive leadership and technical experience in the semiconductor industry.

Doluca will be subject to re-election at the next Western Digital annual meeting of shareholders. With this appointment, Western Digital's board is comprised of nine directors, eight of whom are external and independent.

"I am very pleased to welcome Tunç to the Western Digital board of directors," said Matthew E. Massengill, Chairman of the Board of Western Digital. "Tunç is a veteran semiconductor executive with a strong background in operations and manufacturing, as well as strategy execution.  His experience and insight within the semiconductor space will be a valuable asset to Western Digital as we continue to deliver data-centric technology innovations and solutions to help our customers capture, preserve, access and transform their data."

Prior to being named president and chief executive officer of Maxim Integrated, Doluca held a variety of strategic management positions since joining the company in 1984, including leading research and development and serving as group president of its portable, computing and instrumentation electronics business units.  He has designed over 40 products and holds 11 patents.

Doluca also serves on the boards of directors of Maxim Integrated and the Semiconductor Industry Association. Doluca holds a bachelor's of science degree in electrical engineering from Iowa State University and a master's of science degree in electrical engineering from the University of California, Santa Barbara.

About Western Digital

Western Digital creates environments for data to thrive. The company is driving the innovation needed to help customers capture, preserve, access and transform an ever-increasing diversity of data. Everywhere data lives, from advanced data centers to mobile sensors to personal devices, our industry-leading solutions deliver the possibilities of data. Western Digital® data-centric solutions are marketed under the G-Technology™, HGST, SanDisk®, Tegile™, Upthere™ and WD® brands. Financial and investor information is available on the company's Investor Relations website at investor.wdc.com.

###

Western Digital, the Western Digital logo, G-Technology, HGST, SanDisk, Tegile, Upthere and WD are registered trademarks or trademarks of Western Digital Corporation or its affiliates in the U.S. and/or other countries.

Press Contacts


Corporate

Jim Pascoe
+1-408-717-6999
jim.pascoe@wdc.com

Analyst Relations

Lisa Neitzel
+1-408-717-7607
lisa.neitzel@wdc.com

Americas

Steve Shattuck
+1-949-672-7817
steve.shattuck@wdc.com

Asia Pacific

Jolin Tan
+65-6840-9326
jolin.tan@wdc.com

China

Cathy Ding
+86-213-2063-843
cathy.ding@wdc.com

EMEA

Paul Wooding
+44 (0) 1372-611101
paul.wooding@wdc.com

 

India

Javed Ansari
+91-987-1629-983
javed.ansari@wdc.com

 

Japan - Corporate

Emi Hatano
+81-343-347-115
emi.hatano@wdc.com

Japan - Products

Kenji Suzuki
+81-3-3642-265
kenji.suzuki@wdc.com