开源

Western Digital 相信,无论是作为用户还是贡献者,都能从开源中获得价值。我们认为,开源在当今技术行业的发展和成功中具有关键作用,因为它鼓励社区共同创新、构建和共享。Western Digital 还将开源视为其整体公司和业务战略的重要组成部分。

开源项目

Western Digital 支持并维护许多开源项目。下面是我们所做工作的一些例子。

Linux 内核 - Zoned Storage

我们为 Linux 内核做出了许多贡献,特别是旨在支持下一代存储技术的与存储相关的子系统中。Zoned Storage 是我们最近关注的领域之一。Zoned Storage 是一项基于标准开放式计划,旨在使数据中心能够有效扩展,以迎接 ZB 级存储容量时代。相关产品:Ultrastar DC ZN540 NVMe ZNS SSD

RISC-V - SweRV 内核

RISC-V 是一个开启处理器创新新时代的开源 ISA。为进一步加速开放标准接口和 RISC-V 处理架构,Western Digital 提供了硬件和软件解决方案,帮助发展 RISC-V 生态系统。例如,我们发布了我们的 RISC-V SweRV Core 系列,其中包括 EH1EH2EL2,我们的开放缓存一致性协议 OmniXtend,并为核心项目做出了许多其他贡献以支持 RISC-V 社区。

Sweet B

Sweet B 是一个使用 NIST P-256 和 SECG secp256k1 曲线实现公钥椭圆曲线加密 (ECC) 的库。它是我们 ArmorLock 安全平台的核心组件。为了帮助建立我们对加密库的信心,我们开源了该库,并由安全研究公司 Trail of Bits 对其进行了审核。相关产品:  G-Technology ArmorLock encrypted NVMe™ SSD

Open Titan

OpenTitan 是第一个旨在为信任硅根 (RoT) 芯片构建透明/高质量的参考设计和集成指南的开源项目。利用我们在数据基础架构和开源技术方面的专业知识,Western Digital 正在与生态系统合作伙伴合作优化 OpenTitan 框架,以满足从核心到边缘的以数据为中心的存储用例的各种安全需求,包括机器学习应用程序、智能手机和联网的物联网 (IoT) 设备。查看描述我们目标的博文

Western Digital Github

Western Digital 还维护了一个针对我们自己的项目的官方 GitHub 存储库。过来看看吧!

开源组织

无论是作为创始者、成员还是支持者,Western Digital 都与社区合作来促进开源的发展。

RISC-V 基金会

我们是 RISC-V 基金会的创始成员,是 RISC-V ISA 的管理者。RISC-V ISA 是一个开放的免费 ISA,通过开放标准协作实现处理器创新的新纪元。

CHIPS Alliance

我们是 CHIPS Alliance 的创始成员。CHIPS Alliance 开发与硅器件和 FPGA 相关的高质量、开源硬件设计。

Linux 基金会

我们是 Linux 基金会的银级会员。Linux 基金会为开发人员编码、管理和扩展开放技术项目提供中立、可信的中心。在 Linux 基金会的保护伞之下,我们参与合作了许多项目。

FOSSi 基金会

我们与 FOSSi 基金会合作,开展了与 RISC-V 和 CHIPS Alliance 有关的各种计划,包括 cocotb 项目和 Embench 基准测试。FOSSi 基金会的使命是促进和协助自由开放的数字硬件设计及其相关的生态系统。

GPL 合作承诺

作为根据 GPL 系列许可证版本 2 下获得许可的许多开源项目的用户和贡献者,我们认识到实现开源合规性可能很困难,并可能会导致错误。为了发展开源社区,并允许善意的参与者使用我们在 GPL 下的贡献,我们做出如下承诺:

在提起或继续起诉因终止涵盖许可证而产生的任何法律诉讼或索赔(防御性诉讼除外)之前,Western Digital 承诺向被指控违反涵盖许可证的个人或实体(“您”)提供以下关于补救和恢复的条款(摘自 GPL 版本 3)。在本文中,“本许可证”一词是指正在执行的特定涵盖许可证。

但是,如果您停止所有违反本许可证的行为,则您从特定版权所有者处获得的许可证将 (a) 暂时恢复,除非并直到版权所有者明确并最终终止您的许可证,以及 (b) 永久恢复,如果版权所有者未能在终止后 60 天内通过某种合理的方式向您通知违规行为。

此外,如果版权所有者以某种合理的方式向您通知了违规行为,则您从特定版权所有者处获得的许可将永久恢复;其前提是您是第一次收到该版权所有者发出的违反本许可证(适用于任何作品)的通知,并且您在收到通知后 30 天内纠正了违规行为。

Western Digital 希望本承诺不可撤销,并对 Western Digital 及其版权受让人或继承者具有约束力和可执行性。

Western Digital 可以通过在此页面或后续位置发布新版本来修改此承诺。

“涵盖许可证”是指 GNU 通用公共许可证版本 2 (GPLv2)、GNU 较宽松通用公共许可证版本 2.1 (LGPLv2.1) 或 GNU 库通用公共许可证版本 2 (LGPLv2),这些许可证版本均由自由软件基金会发布。

“防御性诉讼”是指 Western Digital 针对您或您的关联公司提起的先前诉讼或索赔而对您提起的法律诉讼或索赔。

“Western Digital”是指 Western Digital Corporation 或其关联公司。

贡献者契约行为准则

我们认识到,开源是由健康的社区建立的。我们相信,当所有参与者都受到关怀和尊重时,一个健康的社区才会蓬勃发展。为了表明我们对这一理念的承诺,我们采用了贡献者契约来管理我们所有的开源项目以及所有 Western Digital 贡献者在我们的项目和更大开源社区中的行为。

我们产品中的开源

我们相信开源,并在我们的许多产品中使用开源。当我们在软件中使用开源时,我们通常会在“帮助”部分的“第三方通知”部分中标识我们使用的开源。对于我们的硬件产品,可以在随附的软件或产品文档中找到“第三方通知”。对于需要我们提供源代码的开源许可证,您可以在我们的支持站点上找到相关产品的源代码。如果您认为我们存在遗漏,请单击此处与我们联系。

我们的许多产品都是通过符合 OpenChain 的流程构建的。OpenChain 是一项针对开源合规性的开放式 ISO 标准 (ISO/IEC 5230),其中列出了使用开源构建可信供应链的最佳实践。作为 ISO 认证过程中的白金会员和董事会成员,Western Digital 相信 OpenChain 一致性的好处。

开源:我们 Western Digital 的观点是,最安全的解决方案基于开放且可检查的实施,并结合透明的策略和安全实践。

来源:研发工程副总裁 Richard New

开源硅需要以新的方式考虑芯片开发。Western Digital 一直处于这项新技术的最前沿,这体现在我们作为首批商业合作伙伴之一加入 OpenTitan 以及他们最近发布的 SweRV RISC-V 内核系列。随着 RISC-V 和开源硅在我们整个行业中变得越来越普遍,我们期待与所有贡献者共同构建这个开放硅未来。

来源:Google OpenTitan 项目总监 Dominic Rizzo

我们的员工

Western Digital 的团队为我们的客户带来了巨大改变。

Damien Le Moal

杰出工程师(经理)

查看个人资料

Jeremy Bauer

技术专家,企业 HDD 客户固件工程师

Spencer Gilson

高级工程师,软件开发工程(应用程序)

查看个人资料

Shashank Agrawal

高级技术专家

查看个人资料

Senthil Kumar Veluswamy

技术专家

查看个人资料

Jeffrey Lien

首席软件工程师

查看个人资料

Brandon Paupore

软件开发工程师

查看个人资料

Aashish Parmar

外置硬盘固件高级工程师

查看个人资料

AR

Akhilesh Rn

软件开发(系统)高级开发人员

AT

Alan Tse

助理总法律顾问

查看个人资料

Brian Mastenbrook

产品安全高级总监

查看个人资料

Ryan Ware

Senior Technologist

View Profile

招贤纳士

在 Western Digital,我们的工程师在我们的许多产品中使用了开源,并且也做出了自己的贡献。请查看我们的招贤纳士页面以获取最新机会。

Open Source

Western Digital believes in the value of open source as a user and contributor. We recognize open source's critical role in the growth and success of the technology industry today because it encourages a community to innovate, build, and share together. Western Digital also sees open source as a critical building block to its overall corporate and business strategy.

OPEN SOURCE PROJECTS
 

Western Digital contributes to or maintains many open source projects. Here are some examples of our work.

Linux Kernel

RISC-V

Sweet B

OpenTitan

Western Digital Github

Open Source Organizations

Whether as a founder, member, or supporter, Western Digital works with the community to foster open source.

RISC-V Foundation

We are a founding member of the RISC-V Foundation, the steward of the RISC-V ISA. RISC-V ISA is a free and open ISA enabling a new era of processor innovation through open standard collaboration.

CHIPS Alliance

We are a founding member of CHIPS Alliance. The CHIPS Alliance develops high-quality, open source hardware designs relevant to silicon devices and FPGAs.

Linux Foundation

We are a silver member of the Linux Foundation. The Linux Foundation provides a neutral, trusted hub for developers to code, manage, and scale open technology projects. Under the Linux Foundation umbrella are many projects that we collaborate with.

FOSSi Foundation

We work with the FOSSi Foundation on various initiatives related to RISC-V and CHIPS Alliance, including the cocotb project and Embench benchmark. FOSSi Foundation’s mission is to promote and assist free and open digital hardware designs and their related ecosystems.

GPL Cooperation Commitment

As a user of and contributor to many open source projects licensed under version 2 of the GPL family of licensees, we recognize that open source compliance may be difficult and may result in mistakes. To grow the open source community and allow for good-faith actors to use our contributions under the GPL, we commit as follows:

Our Commitment


Before filing or continuing to prosecute any legal proceeding or claim (other than a Defensive Action) arising from termination of a Covered License, Western Digital commits to extend to the person or entity (“you”) accused of violating the Covered License the following provisions regarding cure and reinstatement, taken from GPL version 3. As used here, the term ‘this License’ refers to the specific Covered License being enforced.

However, if you cease all violation of this License, then your license from a particular copyright holder is reinstated (a) provisionally, unless and until the copyright holder explicitly and finally terminates your license, and (b) permanently, if the copyright holder fails to notify you of the violation by some reasonable means prior to 60 days after the cessation.

Moreover, your license from a particular copyright holder is reinstated permanently if the copyright holder notifies you of the violation by some reasonable means, this is the first time you have received notice of violation of this License (for any work) from that copyright holder, and you cure the violation prior to 30 days after your receipt of the notice.

Western Digital intends this Commitment to be irrevocable, and binding and enforceable against Western Digital and assignees of or successors to Western Digital’s copyrights.

Western Digital may modify this Commitment by publishing a new edition on this page or a successor location.

Definitions


'Covered License' means the GNU General Public License, version 2 (GPLv2), the GNU Lesser General Public License, version 2.1 (LGPLv2.1), or the GNU Library General Public License, version 2 (LGPLv2), all as published by the Free Software Foundation.

'Defensive Action' means a legal proceeding or claim that Western Digital brings against you in response to a prior proceeding or claim initiated by you or your affiliate.

'Western Digital' means Western Digital Corporation or its affiliates.

Open Source in our Products


We believe in open source and use it in many of our products. When we use open source in our software, we identify the open source we use in a Third-Party Notices section typically found in the help section. For our hardware products, the Third-Party Notices can be found in the accompanying software or in the product documentation. For open source licenses that require we provide the source code, you can find the source code for the relevant product on our support site. If you believe we have missed something, click here to contact us.

Many of our products are built by OpenChain conformant processes. OpenChain is an open ISO standard (ISO/IEC 5230) for open source compliance that lays out best practices in using open source to build trusted supply chains. As a Platinum Member and board member during the ISO certification process, Western Digital believes in the benefit of OpenChain conformance.

[O]pen source: our view at Western Digital is that the most secure solutions are based on open and inspectable implementations combined with transparent policies and security practices. 

Richard New, Vice President, R&D Engineering

Open source silicon requires thinking about chip development in new ways. Western Digital has been at the forefront of this new technology, demonstrated by joining OpenTitan as one of our first commercial partners and the recent publication of their family of SweRV RISC-V cores. As RISC-V and open source silicon become increasingly ubiquitous throughout our industry, we look forward to building this open silicon future together with all contributors. 

Dominic Rizzo, OpenTitan Project Director, Google

Careers

At Western Digital, our engineers use open source in many of our products and also contribute back. Please see our careers page for the latest opportunities.

What Happens After Moore’s Law?

Moore’s Law has run up against the law of physics. What happens after the engine of technological progress has run out of steam?